Motherhood and Mortality…

The past few weeks have been mostly somber notes for me. Today, I caught up with many of my college friends and classmates in a way that never fails to bring us all together. One of our own, ERAU’s Class of 2004, passed away today. He was only 28 years old.

I’ve lost friends over the years. I’ve lost family leaving scars that won’t seem to heal. However, it’s been almost a year since I’ve been someone’s mom – I almost lost that someone at the very beginning of his life. These moments are now nothing short of devastating as I can’t help but wonder, “what if these phone calls and messages were about me? What would happen to my son?”

Morbid? Maybe. Panicked exaggeration? Maybe. I put the fear aside, acknowledge the grief, but still wonder.

These are the times I am grateful for my “village” the most. That army of family and friends who love him as their own. These are the times that I take comfort in knowing that no matter whatever may come, we don’t have to weather any storm alone.

To my army, I love you all.

Leave a Reply

