And 2012 is over…

… if you’re like me, you are probably wondering where it went and how it could possibly be over already. What a year!

Since last Christmas there has been a whirlwind of non-stop chatter, stubbornness, stitches (4 to the lip), a new addition to the family (the dog, don’t get all excited), and more than our fair share of crisis and heartache. So I’ll just take this opportunity to give thanks at the end of another year, we’re all still here and together – that’s all that really matters right now.

My amazement at my little one continues everyday. He’s the new household champ of Angry Birds and is quickly becoming the star of Bad Piggies. He’s very aware of every device capable of playing these games and grabs whichever one is fully charged – including my phone (remind me to put parental controls on purchases please *facepalm*). I’m in disbelief that his preschool journey is almost over, I wish he could stay at El Centro forever. An amazing set of educators that make me wish I was a preschool student. There is a special place in heaven for these folks handling all those toddlers at once, everyday. Birthday parties completely destroy my nerves and those are just a couple hours. I really don’t know how they do it, but I love them for it.

It was a rough year, emotionally (along with the obvious stresses of everyday life), and I have been censoring myself quite a bit. The responses to when I do “lay it all on the table” have made me somewhat of a recluse in my own existence – one of the things I’d rather leave in 2012.

So out with the old and in with the new. Have some cool ideas for myself and my little one for the next few months. More trips to the beach and kitchen adventures continue, have my first wedding cake next month 🙂 – pray for my sanity and wish us luck!

for Iris & Caitlin

Leave a Reply

