Never too late…

… I know I’ve been all over the place lately, it’s been a bumpy ride and I’m still not sure where the ride ends. I think it’ll be worth it in the end. It’s all about the message…

So it’s a long weekend, and my grandfather decided he was going to come to babysit my kid and I last night. He’s so cute. A cup of tea and some conversation…

I always have interesting conversations with my grandfather. There really is no one quite like him. We chatted for a while about work, his retirement (again), what we’ve been reading, more books, the news and the plans for the next few months. There was some heavy stuff in there, but a few things really stuck with me.

In chatting he asked me what was going on with me, I could only sigh and mutter “I think men are retarded. No offence to present company.” He didn’t skip a beat before he said “none taken, but we’re not retarded. we just don’t think before we act. That usually happens after the fact, when it’s too late.” I could only laugh.

It did get me thinking though. Yes, you can’t turn back time, or get take back words or events. As you say, it’s not the destination but the journey – doesn’t that mean as long as you’re alive is it really ever “too late”?

“People are capable, at any time in their lives, of doing what they dream of.”
― Paulo CoelhoAlchemist

Wrapped up in that thought, he gave me even more to consider about the idea of “too late.”

There’s now a pact in place. As of April 1, we’re all (me, my sister & my gramps) quitting. A family of smokers, this is going to be an enlightening experience to say the least. While it is something we all should do for the obvious reasons, it was his reason that hit home the most.

“You’re going to make me a widow, so the least you can do is make the time we have in this marriage last as long as possible.” As he said it, the only thought in my mind was there was no guilt trip involved, no mean spirit, no anger. Just a simple truth. An expression of love. A not so subtle reminder to cherish every moment. His wife wants to be with him for as long as time allows, so she (and the rest of us) would rather he not help it along any more. Never too late to make a change that not only makes a difference in your life, but the lives of the ones you love.

It’s said so often that it borders on cliché, but it is true that the only constant is change. Real change almost always catches you at what feels like the most inopportune moments. It’s almost never “the right time” for anything.

Sometimes you just have to go with the flow…

“And he took her in his arms and kissed her under the sunlit sky, and he cared not that they stood high upon the walls in the sight of many.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

2 thoughts on “Never too late…

  1. uncensoredmind says:

    I like this post … not only in support of you all quitting, but because mostly for the reasons your granddad gave as well as your interpretation of his reason – “there was no guilt trip involved, no mean spirit, no anger. Just a simple truth. An expression of love.”. it really is simple but very honest and powerful and full of purpose.

Leave a Reply

