The price of siblings, or Happy Birthday to my sister…

… I know it’s an odd title, hopefully I’ll get to the point somewhere along the way. 20 something years ago, Mummy went to the hospital to have a baby. I was 5, seriously, that was supposed to mean what to me?? Years later I understood why everyone was so sombre back then, but at the time all I knew was that 8 days later when Dad picked me up from school, he said we had somewhere to go. I waited in the car for him to return and hand me a bundle – “Be very careful, we’re taking her home for mummy.”

My sister came home that day in my lap. This morning, her birthday, I jumped into her lap, hugged her and sang very badly. It’s been a wild ride. She almost never came home that day. There have been a few occasions where I’ve almost lost her (not counting my urges to kill her). Today though, it’s her birthday and she is here. That’s all that matters.

It might seem a little morbid to be in this vein on her birthday. There used to be 3 of us. We are still 3, just not physically. Every birthday is a reminder of that. They mean that much more when we can be together. The price of the connection of siblings.

I was tempted to draw for the OLD photo albums for some proper birthday scandal, but instead I’ll just send birthday greetings…

Even if you don’t feel it everyday, you are beautiful.

Even if you don’t think so, you are loved beyond measure.

Even when you doubt yourself, I have faith in you.

We fight and you frustrate me because I want the best for you – I want you to be able to see the best in yourself.

We both have our own paths to lead – don’t ever let them compare yours to mine.

I wouldn’t have made it this far on my journey without you.

I’m here for you in yours – all the way.

I am grateful for you.

My best friend, my partner in crime, my “dance in your underwear & sing into your hairbrush” amusement…

There will never be enough words, ways or time to tell you how much you mean to me.

Just know that I’ll always have your back – even when you’re being stupid, so that kick in the ass is from me.

I love you, baby girl. It’s your time.

Happy Birthday Fran XO

4 thoughts on “The price of siblings, or Happy Birthday to my sister…

Leave a Reply

