Ode to Apple, or How we accomplished potty training…

… I didn’t think Steve Jobs had this particular use in mind when he gave the world the iPad, but I was desperate and I thank him. I am both ecstatic and ashamed at how we managed “potty motivation” but like I said, desperate.
So potty training has been a challenge. This is one of those posts he will hate me for when he’s older, but I think it’s fair exchange for the grey hairs I’m now sporting. He has just not been interested, at all. Bless his teachers at school, they got his interest started but consistency at home has been nonexistent.

This week he’s been home with a nasty cough and an upset tummy. I can’t imagine suffering with yucky sinuses at that size knowing what mine do to me. Poor baby. So me and my bright self figured this would be as good a time as any to really make an effort. Before I explain what happened, let me preface by saying we have tried every approach out there. He doesn’t care. Special thanks to everyone who reassured me by saying one day he would just “get it”. Thankfully, that day has come.

When he’s engrossed in an activity, such as Angry Birds on his iPad (I am no longer cursing you for the great gift, Uncle Ty), nothing short of the apocalypse can distract him. Yes, this means the inevitable puddle wherever he sits or stands. I’m sure I have blisters from the mop. And yes, pull ups are a great invention but they cost so damn much and he doesn’t care! *deep breath*

After discovering one such puddle, I damn near lost my mind. In my fit of frustration I snapped and the iPad went into hiding. Many pleas and lots of straight up begging later, I made a deal with my 3 y-o child. You pee in the potty, no more wet pants, and the iPad comes back. I was instantly ashamed of myself for blackmailing a toddler. How was he going to understand the deal I was trying to get him to make? *sigh*

After a little while, he gave up and broke out the Lego. It was a challenging 2 days. As his sore throat got worse, I caved. He was so miserable and just wanted to stay in bed. He looked so pathetic, I took it from the hiding place and we played a game together. Thinking to myself my trump card was gone, I resigned myself to going back to the drawing board.

Little did I know he actually took our deal seriously. Every so often I get a call “mummy! I need to go to the potty!”. Now on day 3 of no wet pants. Imagine my shock and elation this morning when we were elbow deep in Angry Birds Star Wars when he just left me sitting there, without a word and went and used the potty all by himself. He called for help only when he couldn’t turn on the water to wash his hands.

*cartwheels, backflips, jumping around like I just won the lotto*

Yes, lots of probable TMI, but you must understand I never foresaw the day when I would be so excited about someone else’s bathroom habits. I’ve been dreading potty training since the day he was born. Likely most of my stress in the process was due to that anxiety, but I actually feel relieved. That kind of relief when you’ve agonized for a final, muddle your way through it, obsess over the grade, then find out you did better than just a passing grade.

Yes, I blackmailed my kid with his iPad to motivate him to use the potty. The least I can do in return is to leave the seat up. Fair trade, don’t you think?

And thanks for calling, even though I missed all of the calls. It’s nice to be remembered.

7 thoughts on “Ode to Apple, or How we accomplished potty training…

  1. Yvonne says:

    His prostate would be gratefull if you also teach him to sit while using the potty. So… You don’t have to leave the seat up. Love you, yvonne

  2. short hairstyles for women says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have
    some experience with something like this. Please
    let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I
    look forward to your new updates.

  3. Sonja says:

    What’s up mates, how is everything, and what you want to say on the topic of this piece of writing,
    in my view its actually remarkable designed for me.

  4. early pregancy test says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself
    or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like
    to find out where u got this from. many thanks

Leave a Reply

