Fresh Ink…

I rarely go into detail about the meaning behind any of my tattoos. The only exception to that really being the tribute to my late sister. Well, today I got fresh ink. (I’ll update with better pictures post swelling/itching/scabbing/yuckiness in about a week)…

I’m not going to go into this one either really, but I will say this – they are all reminders of a lesson I don’t wish to forget. Life lessons, usually painful ones, but things that have all played a part in making me the woman I am today. This is no different and the lesson is trust – how hard it is to gain, how easy it is to lose and that I need to always trust in myself.

“Forgive but do not forget, or you will be hurt again. Forgiving changes the perspectives. Forgetting loses the lesson.”
― Paulo Coelho

I won’t forget.

If you were wondering about what it says on the inside of my wrist, “Invictus”… just keep reading, it’s below. If you stay literal to the book, it should be on my ankle but I’ve decided to leave my legs alone for the purposes of ink. Thanks, Phillip, for great work as usual.

Love, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

IMG_20130720_202440

IMG_20130720_202322Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

William Ernest Henley

One thought on “Fresh Ink…

Leave a Reply

