#25DaysofGratitude Days 1 and 2…

… I know you’re wondering what is she on about… it’s a little project I’ve given myself heading on to Christmas. If you’ve been around this year, you probably would have guessed that it’s been a little topsy turvy (sometimes a lot lol) but the end is right around the corner. The finish line is in sight, but in the spirit of out with the old and in with the new, I’ve given myself a little project to close out a rough year. This is my #25DaysofGratitude.. inspired by #Andys50DaysofChristmas – named for the fiancé of one of my girlfriends who has taken on the task of a treat everyday, for 50 days, for her, leading up to Christmas. Christmassy socks, candy, all sorts of cute and thoughtful little things. I’m looking forward to their wedding 🙂 Yes, back to the gratitude part. I am grateful for many things in my life. I don’t say thank you for those things, those people, those experiences, often enough. So here is my 2013 end-of-year project – the #25DaysofGratitude. Days 1 and 2 are lumped together because I didn’t have internet at home last night, sorry – and please, feel free to join in 🙂

Day 1

First day, first love – I am grateful for my dad. We fixed, painted, moved and all manner of useful things in the house yesterday. The lessons he taught his kids in DIY home repair have not gone unused! We’ve had our ups and downs in our relationship, but I’ve always been daddy’s girl. I was proud to be there for him as he got married last week. I hope he finds the happiness he deserves. Besides my son, he’s my biggest supporter and fan in everything I do. Thank you Dad, for being the amazing man you are. I love you, all your charm, corny jokes, (really corny jokes), teaching my son to pee in a flowerpot and to wear his underwear on his head (-_-), your bleeding heart behind your shining armour. (I’ll probably get more mushy next week for your birthday…) I love you, Dad – and I’m grateful for you.

 

Day 2

I am grateful for the ability to be able to provide for my family. I may not have the discretionary income I would like, but the bills are paid and the household is not hungry. I am very aware this is not the case for many, many people right now. It’s not going to be a Merry Christmas nor a Happy New Year for many people. I’m painfully aware of this personally and professionally. So, I lend a helping hand to someone who needs it when I can, and remain grateful for the blessings I do have.

… now I’m all mush… see you tomorrow folks for Day 3.

2 thoughts on “#25DaysofGratitude Days 1 and 2…

  1. rockstarphd says:

    I too am mush! Absolutely verklempt. I love everything about this, because if there is one thing I have learned from my time in Midwestern exile, it is that the awareness of and gratitude for even the tiniest of blessings are the substance of deep and profound happiness. Gwaan count mi fren and may it be an abundant well of peace and joy.

Leave a Reply

