#25DaysofGratitude Day 5…

I’m tempted to blow a raspberry right now and dance around like a little kid chanting “my BFF is awesomer than yours!”… ok, you’ve got the visual 🙂 Today, on her birthday, I am grateful for the woman I am honored to call my best friend.

Let me start with the appropriate salutation – HAPPY BIRTHDAY NYREE!!!

She will probably boil me in oil if I divulge her age, so to avoid injury and potential loss of limb or life, I’ll step away from the dates and get on with the mush.

I met this woman (censored for fear of possible age calculation) years ago, and let’s just say it was a little dodgy. Mutual friends out and about, and I was convinced she really didn’t think much of me. Let this be my first word of advice to strangers – the prickly exterior she sometimes successfully manages to fake is a front, she’s a teddy bear. Unless, that is, she actually really doesn’t like you. Then you’re on your own.

Life has a funny way of bringing you angels in the flesh when you need them most. She is one of those angels. Many, many, many (mis)adventures later, from successes and failures, joys and heartbreaks, and of course moments and memories all set to music… here we are – picking out our blinged out wheelchairs for the retirement home we will take over one day. Don’t forget the rum. Yes, she is stubborn and miserable (aren’t we all?). She doesn’t always engage her mouth-brain filter, but neither do I so if you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit with us. She, being the doting godmother, excuses ANYTHING my son does with statement “but he’s attractive” – someone stop her please. Jabs aside, she’s a beautiful, brilliant and simply amazing woman.

So without further ado, my birthday wish for you, Funmi –

That you may always see the beauty we see in you, inside and out.

That you demonstrate the loyalty to yourself that you do everyday to those you love.

That you realise that you are braver and stronger than you allow yourself to believe, we believe in you.

That you have the faith in yourself that you have in all of us.

That you know, without any hint of doubt, that you are loved and treasured beyond measure.

And from me, in time, in life, in ups and downs, in loves, in loss, in joy, in grief, in laughter and in pain – you are my friend.

I wish you joy, but most of all, peace in your soul.

I honour you.

I love you.

I am grateful for you. You are the master of your fate, you are the captain of your soul.

One thought on “#25DaysofGratitude Day 5…

Leave a Reply

